CAREGIVER REGISTRATION PROCESS for West Virginia's Medical Cannabis Program













Patient receives approval from the Office of Medical Cannabis (OMC).

Visit <u>omc.wv.gov/patients</u> to learn the patient registration process.

The patient must also complete a caregiver designation form to document the patient's designation of an individual to serve as their caregiver. This form can be found on OMC's website under the 'Patients' page.

For patients that are minors

A caregiver application must created and ready for submission before a minor patient is approved.

Caregiver submits to background check and fingerprinting.

Caregivers designated by a patient must submit to fingerprinting and a criminal background check and are responsible for the associated fees.

Caregivers can enroll for fingerprinting at any IdentoGO location within the state. Visit <u>uenroll.identogo.com</u> and enter the following code: 228RIQ.

A criminal background check acknowledgement form can be found on OMC's website under the 'Patients' page.

Caregiver submits application to OMC through registration portal.

Applications are submitted through the registration portal. A \$50 state fee is also required for the caregiver application. A fee waiver is available to those who qualify and information is available on the OMC's website and the application portal.

Documents needed for the caregiver application include:

- A copy of a valid form of ID
- Proof of West Virginia residency
- Passport style photo of the caregiver
- <u>Criminal Background Check</u> <u>Privacy Act Statement and</u> <u>Rights Acknowledgement</u>

<u>Caregiver Designation by Patient</u> Form

Caregiver receives application update via email.

/_-

Caregivers should check for updates on their application via email.

It can take up to 30 days to receive the criminal background check and to review the caregiver application.

Caregiver can visit a dispensary to pick up patient's medical cannabis.

If approved, the caregiver will receive a digital caregiver ID card associated with the patient's medical cannabis card. The caregiver must show their caregiver ID card at a licensed medical cannabis dispensary along with a valid form of ID.

Visit <u>omc.wv.gov</u> to find a list of licensed dispensaries located around the state.

WV Office of Medical Cannabis