
Complete your patient application with the West 

Virginia Department of Health and Human 

Resources (DHHR), Bureau for Public Health, 

Office of Medical Cannabis at

https://wv-public.mycomplia.com.

Step 2

Submit your $50 application fee via check or money 

order, made payable to WV DHHR at:

Office of Medical Cannabis

350 Capitol Street, Suite 523
Charleston, WV 25301

Step 3

The Office of Medical Cannabis 

will process your application in 

the order it was received, 

typically within 30 days.

If there are problems with your 

application, you will receive an 

email with instructions to correct.

Step 4

Discuss medical cannabis with a registered 
physician and obtain their certification.

Step 1

Medical Cannabis Card Issued

Office of Medical Cannabis Application Roadmap

*Fee waivers for financial hardship may be available.

https://wv-public.mycomplia.com/
https://omc.wv.gov/Pages/default.aspx
https://omc.wv.gov/Pages/default.aspx
https://omc.wv.gov/Pages/default.aspx


Senate Bill 386 was signed into law by Governor Jim Justice on April 19, 2017, creating the Medical 

Cannabis Act that allows for cannabis to be used for certified medical use by a West Virginia resident 

with one of the following serious medical conditions:

• Cancer

• HIV / AIDS

• Multiple Sclerosis

• Terminal Diagnoses

• Parkinson’s Disease

• Spinal Cord Damage

• Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis

• Post Traumatic Stress Disorder

• Epilepsy

• Neuropathy

• Huntington’s Disease

• Chronic or Intractable Pain

• Crohn’s Disease

• Intractable Seizures

• Sickle Cell Anemia

A registered physician will evaluate your diagnosis and need for medical 

cannabis. If the physician recommends medical cannabis, they will send the 

Office of Medical Cannabis an electronic certification that will be included with 

your application to the state.

A current list of physicians authorized to certify patients for medical cannabis in 

West Virginia can be found at omc.wv.gov.

Seeing a Physician

http://www.wvlegislature.gov/wvcode/code.cfm?chap=16A&art=1#01
http://www.wvlegislature.gov/wvcode/code.cfm?chap=16A&art=1#01
http://www.omc.wv.gov


Applications for medical cannabis cards through the 

State of West Virginia are submitted at 

https://wv-public.mycomplia.com/.

Required 
Documents

Digital Photo
Submit a current photo of yourself. 
This photo will be used on your 
medical cannabis card, if approved, 
and should be a clear, front-facing 
photo of your head and shoulders. 
Remove hats and sunglasses and 
avoid using filters. This photo 
should resemble (but not be a copy 
of) a passport or
drivers license photo.

Photo ID
Submit a copy of your driver's 
license, state ID, or passport. 

Your photo ID should be clearly 
legible and not expired.

 

Proof of Residency
Submit a copy of a
utility bill, vehicle or voter 
registration, lease agreement, or 
other document establishing 
West Virginia residency. 

Hardship Waiver
Patients requesting a

waiver of the $50 application fee
must submit proof of income. 

W2’s or pay stubs within 30 days are 
acceptable. Statements of benefits 
showing enrollment in low-income 

assistance programs are also 
acceptable, such as SNAP, Medicaid, 

SSI / SSDI, or Section 8 (HUD).

Applications are processed in the 

order they are received, typically 

within 30 days.

If there are any problems with 

your application, the Office of 

Medical Cannabis will contact you 

via email to make corrections. 

Instructions on completing your 

application can be found by 

clicking the user guide here.

Applying for a Medical Cannabis Card

https://wv-public.mycomplia.com/
https://apps.wv.gov/DMV/SelfService/DL/AcceptableDocuments
https://apps.wv.gov/DMV/SelfService/DL/AcceptableDocuments


Application Processing Fee

There is a $50 application fee for both initial and renewal applications for medical cannabis cards. 

Payment can be made via electronic payment (ACH) as a part of your application, or in the form of 

a check or money order mailed to our office with your application number written in the memo line.

Patients may request the $50 fee be waived based on financial hardship. Proof of hardship will need to 

be provided as a part of your application. W2s or pay stubs dated within 30 days are acceptable proof. 

Benefit statements showing participation in low-income assistance programs at the state and federal 

level (such as SNAP, Medicaid, SSI / SSDI, or Section 8 (HUD) housing) are also acceptable proof.



Application Processing Fee, Online Payment (ACH)

ACH payments are made within the application portal. Selecting ACH as the payment method will 

direct you to the ACH payment site automatically. Once complete, you will receive a confirmation 

that your payment has been received and your application has been submitted.



The application fee may be paid by check or money order by patients who choose not to make 

electronic payments. Checks and money orders should be payable to the West Virginia Department of 

Health and Human Resources (WV DHHR). Please note your application reference number in the 

memo line.

Checks or money orders should 

be sent to:

   Office of Medical Cannabis

   350 Capitol Street, Suite 523

   Charleston, WV 25301

WV DHHR
Fifty Dollars

50.00

John Doe 
Application 68954

John Doe 

123 Anywhere Street

Charleston, WV 25301

Johnathan Doe

September 5th, 2023

Application Processing Fee, Mailed Payment



The Office of Medical Cannabis will typically review your application 

within 30 days of submission.

If your application is approved, you will receive an approval email from 

the Office of Medical Cannabis with instructions on how to access your 

medical cannabis card. 

If your application is rejected for errors, you will receive an email from the 

Office of Medical Cannabis with instructions on what corrections to make. 

Common rejection reasons include blurred, cropped, or filtered digital photos, 

expired photo IDs, missing proof of residency, missing payment, or not 

selecting a valid online-electronic physician certification. 

Processing your Application



Register for a 

New Account

(if needed)…

https://wv-public.mycomplia.com/

Using the Patient Application Portal

https://wv-public.mycomplia.com/


…then sign in

https://wv-public.mycomplia.com/

Using the Patient Application Portal

https://wv-public.mycomplia.com/


For patients who have never held a West Virginia medical cannabis card

For patients who have an existing card that is due to expire or is expired

For patients who need to update information for their existing medical cannabis card 

2) …then CREATE NEW APPLICATION, then…

1) Click APPLICATIONS…

3) …select application type

Using the Patient Application Portal



Begin entering your 

personal information

Using the Patient Application Portal (New Patients)



Dr John Doe

12345

Choose ‘Online-Electronic Certification’

and select the correct certification from your provider 

All physician certifications are now electronic. 

The Office of Medical Cannabis no longer accepts 

paper copies of physician certifications.

Using the Patient Application Portal (New Patients)



Answer application questions Financial Hardship Waivers

A financial hardship waiver may be approved for 

patients with low income, defined as earning less 

than 200% of Federal Poverty Guidelines.

Proofs of income include W-2s or the last 

30 days of pay stubs. Benefit statements showing 

participation in low-income assistance programs at 

the state or federal level (such as SNAP, Medicaid, 

SSI / SSDI, or Section 8 (HUD) housing) are also 

acceptable proof.

You will need to upload proof of income in the next 

section (documents).

Using the Patient Application Portal (New Patients)

https://aspe.hhs.gov/topics/poverty-economic-mobility/poverty-guidelines


Uploading required documents Digital photos must be front facing 

and capture the head and shoulders, 

as seen in the examples below.

Using the Patient Application Portal (New Patients)



Uploading required documents

Your ID document must be a current photo 

ID establishing your identity, such as a 

passport, driver’s license, or state ID.

Acceptable proofs of residency include 

lease agreements, current utility 

statements, voter registration cards, or 

similar forms that establish your 

West Virginia residency.

A full listing of acceptable ID and proof of 

residency documents can be found at the 

West Virginia DMV.

If you have requested a waiver for financial 

hardship, you will need to upload your proof 

of income document or low-income 

assistance benefits statement.

Using the Patient Application Portal (New Patients)

https://apps.wv.gov/DMV/SelfService/DL/AcceptableDocuments


Checks or money orders should 

be made payable to 

“WV DHHR” and mailed to:

Office of Medical Cannabis

350 Capitol Street, Suite 523

Charleston, WV 25301

You will receive a five-digit 

application reference number after 

you submit your application. Please 

write this number on the memo line 

of your check or money order.

Do not submit a payment if you 

have requested a waiver of the $50 

fee due to financial hardship.

Using the Patient Application Portal (Payment)

ACH PAYMENT: Selecting ACH will automatically direct 

you to the payment portal when you click SAVE & NEXT

https://omc.wv.gov/Pages/default.aspx
https://omc.wv.gov/Pages/default.aspx
https://omc.wv.gov/Pages/default.aspx


The final step is to review your 

application and click SUBMIT.

You will receive an email 

confirmation that your 

application has been received.

Applications are processed in 

the order they are received, 

typically within 30 days.

Using the Patient Application Portal (Mailed Payments)



Using the Patient Application Portal (ACH Payment)

Complete each section of 

the ACH payment field 

using your personal and 

bank account information

Selecting ACH will 

automatically direct you to 

the payment portal



Using the Patient Application Portal (ACH Payment)

Complete each section of 

the ACH payment field 

using your personal and 

bank account information



Using the Patient Application Portal (ACH Payment)

Once an ACH payment is made, 

you will receive a confirmation 

notice and email



Patient Renewals and Patient Updates

Patients are required to see a physician and submit a 

renewal application annually to maintain their medical 

cannabis cards. New patient applications and renewal 

applications are completed the same way. 

Renewal applications should be submitted before your card 

expires to ensure no lapses in eligibility. 

Patient update applications are used to edit information on an 

existing account. Name or address changes, contact 

information updates, and updates to your medical condition 

can be made here. 

There are no fees for patient update applications. 



Patient Updates

This section indicates what you 

would like to change. Select the 

items you would like to edit, then 

click “Save and Next” to move 

through your application and 

make corrections.

When finished, click “Submit.”



Contact

For additional information, please contact:

West Virginia Department of Health and Human Resources
Bureau for Public Health
Office of Medical Cannabis
350 Capitol Street, Room 523
Charleston, WV 25301
Phone: 304-356-5090
Email: medcanwv@wv.gov 
Website: https://omc.wv.gov

mailto:medcanwv@wv.gov
http://www.omc.wv.gov
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