
DIFFERENCES BETWEEN 
HEMP & MEDICAL CANNABIS

WHAT IS MEDICAL CANNABIS? 

MEDICAL
CANNABIS
PROGRAM
GUIDE

STILL HAVE QUESTIONS?

CONTACT US: 

Medical cannabis is generally understood as the use of
the cannabis plant and its chemical compounds to
potentially help ease symptoms associated with
medical conditions. Medical cannabis must be  
recommended by a registered physician in West
Virginia.

Hemp and medical cannabis are both a variety of
the Cannabis sativa plant, but have significant
differences. The main difference is in cannabinoid
concentration with hemp containing low THC,
high CBD ratios and medical cannabis commonly
containing high THC, low CBD ratios.

Hemp is also legal at the federal level while
cannabis, medical or recreational, remains illegal
at the federal level. Some states have opted to
legalize cannabis medically, recreationally, or both.
West Virginia passed the Medical Cannabis Act in
2017.

MEDICAL CANNABIS PRODUCTS 

Pill 

Oil 

Topical (gels, creams, ointments)

A form medically appropriate for
administration by vaporization or
nebulization
Liquid 

Dermal patch 

Dry leaf or plant form 

LEARN MORE: OMC.WV.GOV

350 CAPITOL ST.
ROOM 523
CHARLESTON, WV 25301

304-356-5090

MEDCANWV@WV.GOV
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RENEWING?

PATIENTS MUST RENEW ANNUALLY

Schedule your ANNUAL Physician’s
Certification appointment in-person or
online

Log in to your MyComplia account to
create a renewal application

Submit renewal application and payment

Cancer

HIV/AIDS

Amytrophic lateral
sclerosis (ALS)

Parkinson’s disease

Multiple sclerosis (MS)

Epilepsy

Neuropathies

Huntington’s disease

Crohn’s disease

Post-traumatic stress
disorder (PTSD)

Intractable seizures

Sickle cell anemia

Severe chronic or
intractable pain of
neuropathic origin or severe
chronic or intractable pain

Damage to the nervous
tissue of the spinal cord with
objective neurological
indication of intractable
spasticity

Terminal illness 
(life expectancy of one year
or less)

QUALIFYING CONDITIONS

REGISTER WITH THE OMC

OBTAIN YOUR MEDICAL CANNABIS CARD

Schedule an appointment with a registered
physician. A list of approved telemedicine
companies and registered physicians can be
found on the Office of Medical Cannabis’
(OMC) website. If the physician recommends
medical cannabis to you, you will receive a
digital physician certification to add to the
state application. 

Register with the OMC by submitting an
application through the registration portal
found on the OMC’s website. Documents
needed for the application include a copy of a
valid form of identification, proof of West
Virginia residency, and a passport style photo
of yourself.

A $50 application fee is required and may be
paid via mail or ACH. A fee waiver may be
granted with proof of financial hardship
through an acceptable proof of income. More
information can be found via the OMC’s
website or the application portal

The Office of Medical Cannabis will review
your application within 30 days. After review,
you will receive an update via email about the
status of your application.

If you are approved, you will be notified to
login and download your digital medical ID
card. If your application needs a correction, it
will be rejected and sent back to you for
corrections. If your application is denied, you
will be informed of the reason. 

SCHEDULE AN APPOINTMENT

MEDICAL
CANNABIS
ADVISORY
BOARD 

The Medical Cannabis Advisory Board
(MCAB) is an independent board
focusing on evaluating and
addressing various medical cannabis
related issues on a quarterly basis.
Subcommittees of the board also
meet to discuss topics and concerns
as they arise. The MCAB may make
recommendations to the state
legislature for changes if necessary. 

You can learn more about the advisory
board and meeting updates at
omc.wv.gov. 

HOW TO REGISTER

EMPLOYMENT
§16A-15-4 ​

​(1) Employers cannot discharge, threaten,
refuse to hire or otherwise discriminate or
retaliate against an employee solely on the
basis of such employee’s status as an
individual who is certified to use medical
cannabis.

​(2) Employers do NOT have to make
accomodations to allow the use of medical
cannabis on the property or premises of any
place of employment. 

(3) Employers may discipline employee for
being under the influence of medical
cannabis in the workplace. 

READ MORE OF CHAPTER 16A. MEDICAL
CANNABIS ACT AT OMC.WV.GOV

Prohibitions can be seen in §16A-5-10 


